Thousands of Gmail accounts are set to be deleted - but you don't need to worry unless you have an account you want to hang on to that you haven't used for at least two years.
Google announced that it is updating its inactive accounts policy, but promised that it the changes will be rolled out "slowly and carefully, with plenty of notice". The tech giant confirmed that it is taking the steps in a bid to reduce security threats including spam, phishing scams and account hijacking.
Google Product Management VP Ruth Kricheli explained: "If an account hasn’t been used for an extended period of time, it is more likely to be compromised. This is because forgotten or unattended accounts often rely on old or re-used passwords that may have been compromised, haven't had two factor authentication set up, and receive fewer security checks by the user."