
It was at the end of 2024 that Strava disabled the ability for users to share URLs on the its multiple app surfaces. It also deleted all historical URLs that had been posted. The change was cited as necessary to protect the Strava community from a wave of harmful spam attacks.
"Recently our team has been dealing with a sustained campaign of inauthentic content posted to the platform and as a result we have taken certain necessary steps to safeguard the community," the company said at the time.