Get all your news in one place.
100's of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Tom’s Guide
Tom’s Guide
Technology
Kaycee Hill

Google is deleting inactive Gmail accounts — here's how to save yours

Image of Gmail logo on a laptop.

If you haven’t checked your Gmail account in a while, it might not be there much longer. With billions of Gmail accounts in use, Google is tightening the reins on inactive users. Yes, Google will delete your long-forgotten inbox gathering dusty digital cobwebs — but don't worry, there are a few precautions you can take to save it. 

Earlier this year, Google notified users via email about the Inactive Account Policy targeting accounts inactive for over two years. If your account has been idle, it could be permanently deleted along with all the data in Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos.  

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100's of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.