Get all your news in one place.
100's of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
TechRadar
TechRadar
Sead Fadilpašić

Clicking 'Allow' on a Google and Microsoft permission screens could give hackers access to your entire account, FBI warns

Phishing.
  • FBI warns of rising OAuth consent phishing attacks exploiting legitimate app permissions
  • Victims tricked into granting malicious apps access, enabling email reading and sending
  • Password changes don’t help; users must revoke tokens in app security settings

Hackers found a way to access your data, read your messages, and even send emails to your contacts, without ever needing your password or other login credentials. All they need from you is a single click on a completely legitimate, well-known platform.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100's of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.