
As Matt Hancock continues to find to his his detriment, historic WhatsApp messages can come back to haunt you. While most of us won’t experience that kind of embarrassing public exposure, having your WhatsApp messages self-delete after a certain time is one way to ensure that people can’t dredge up awkward messages for a triumphant “I told you so” moment.
Currently, WhatsApp does permit this, but in a very limited way. Users have the option for their messages to auto-delete after 24 hours, a week or 30 days. That’s better than nothing, but people who discuss very sensitive work information might prefer something a bit more immediate.