Get all your news in one place.
100's of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
The Independent UK
The Independent UK
National
Barbara Ortutay

You may have blocked someone on X but now they can see your public posts anyway

Musk X Misinformation - (Copyright 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Elon Musk’s X has been modified so that accounts you’ve blocked on the social media platform can still see your public posts.

X updated its Help Center page over the weekend to explain how blocking now works on the site. While you can still block accounts, those accounts will now be able to see your posts unless you have made your account private. They won't, however, be able to reply to them or repost them. Blocked accounts also won't be able to follow you and you won't be able to follow them, as has been the case before the policy change.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100's of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.