Instant messaging app WhatsApp is introducing two major changes as part of a new privacy update. Later this month, users will be able to leave group chats without notifying others and control who can see when they are online.
People will also be able to block others from taking screenshots of 'View Once' messages, which are designed to disappear after being opened. The screenshot blocking tool is currently being tested, WhatsApp said, and would be released to users soon.
Currently, when a user leaves a group chat a notification appears at the bottom of the conversation telling others in the group who has left. And while users are already able to turn off a feature which tells others if they have read a message, it has not been possible until now to hide the fact that a user was online and using WhatsApp.