Most people have a social media app on their phone which often need access to photos stored on the device.
As soon as you download an app, a message is likely to pop up on your phone asking permission to access certain features. Most people click OK right away, but have you ever wondered what happens when you do?
Some apps like Instagram request access to your photos as without permission to use the camera, the app cannot function. This is similar to Facebook Messenger, as many users will be sending photos to friends and saving picture messages.