Get all your news in one place.
100's of premium titles.
One app.
Start reading
Manchester Evening News
Manchester Evening News
National
Jake Hackney

What happens when you delete a message on WhatsApp

WhatsApp has become the standard form of communication for many of us in this modern, digital age. Millions of smartphone users around the world now opt for WhatsApp over regular text messaging, as it is a quick and easy way of communicating with other users without cost.

The app boasts over 2bn users every month, according to market and consumer data company Statista – this is more than twice the amount of Facebook Messenger users. Since its launch, WhatsApp has been updated to allow a whole host of features.

One such feature was the ‘Delete’ function, which was added in 2017 to allow users to delete messages – including media such as photos and videos – from their conversations. Messages can also be deleted from group conversations.

Sign up to read this article
Read news from 100's of titles, curated specifically for you.
Already a member? Sign in here
Related Stories
Top stories on inkl right now
One subscription that gives you access to news from hundreds of sites
Already a member? Sign in here
Our Picks
Fourteen days free
Download the app
One app. One membership.
100+ trusted global sources.