Cybersecurity experts at VPNOverview are advising iPhone users to restart their phones if they see a suspicious update notification appear on their screen.
Rumours are rife online that the notification which looks legitimate is actually a rouse concocted by a hacker, according to TikTok users.
An account under the username @mrjamienyland has garnered over 15.2 million views and over 1.3 million likes after posting a short video alleging that hackers have found a way to push a notification to your iPhone asking you to update because your device has been hacked.