Many Netflix subscribers have hit out at the streaming service after being informed of a major ban on password-sharing. It comes as thousands of account holders in the UK are set to receive an email today (May 24) that'll inform subscribers of potentially losing access to their account amid the streaming service's crackdown on password sharing.
Emails will be sent to anyone who is sharing an account with someone who doesn't live in the same household. People who are not the main account holders and who do not live in the same home will lose access, as Netflix states that an account is intended for a single household.
But subscribers can enable an individual outside their household to watch via their account by paying an additional £4.99 a month. Users will not be charged this automatically and only start paying it should they decide to opt-in for this option.