Friends and family using the same Netflix account could soon be a thing of the past. It was good while it lasted, but the streaming giant has now announced a major crackdown on password-sharing.
Netflix bosses told shareholders that over 100 million households engaged in account sharing, and it "undermines our long-term ability to invest in and improve Netflix, as well as build our business". The company has plans for a new paid sharing system to launch "more broadly" in the first quarter of 2023.
Under the plans, all users will have to sign into a main TV that is connected to a Wifi network, which will become your home Wifi for your account. Every device you use Netflix on has to log in to the same Wifi every 31 days - if you go longer then your account won't work.