Netflix has officially begun its crackdown on account sharing in the UK by sending out emails to customers who are sharing their accounts with people "outside their household".
The streaming giant confirmed earlier this year that it plans to roll out a block on password sharing on its service which will likely affect a huge number of users - meaning that they will either have to pay more to continue watching or else face being booted off the platform. Although Netflix's terms currently state that users are not supposed to share their passwords with people not in their household, this has not deterred millions of subscribers from giving their account details to friends and family to save money.
But this is soon set to change, as a statement released by Netflix on Tuesday confirmed: "Starting today, we will be sending this email to members who are sharing Netflix outside their household in the United Kingdom." The email in question begins by reminding users that "your Netflix account is for you and the people you live with".