
On Windows 10, the ability for each user to have their own account is a convenient way to keep settings and files separate for a more personal experience. However, if someone doesn't remember to sign out, their account will continue to run apps, services, and other processes, which can consume significant system resources and negatively affect the performance of the user actively using the device.
If you share a device with multiple people and someone forgets to log off, Windows 10 includes at least two ways to terminate the inactive session without leaving your account using Task Manager and Command Prompt.