
Windows 11 and Windows 10 have a lot of annoying default settings, but none is worse than the OS's refusal to kill unresponsive tasks when you choose to shut down or restart. By default, if a single program -- even a simple background program -- refuses to shut itself down or claims to have unsaved data, the OS will throw up an error message which gives you the opportunity to either cancel your shutdown or force close the apps by hitting "Restart Anyway" or "Shutdown Anyway."
In theory, this is a nice safety feature for people who are absent-minded about saving their work. Perhaps you had an important document open in Notepad, you went to restart to install an update and you forgot to save your work beforehand. This notice would give you the opportunity to go back to the Windows desktop, save your file and then initiate the restart again.