
On Windows 11, when you delete files, they are not immediately removed from the drive. Instead, they are marked for deletion and stored in the Recycle Bin in case you need them back.
The only caveat is that files in the Recycle Bin aren't kept forever. Depending on the drive (partition) size, the operating system will reserve a small percentage to store deleted files. As the space fills up, the system will begin removing the oldest files to free up space for files, limiting the number of files you can restore.