In bad news for anyone mooching their Netflix account off parents/friends/that one ex from 2017, Netflix is trialling a feature where customers must pay extra to share their password — and yes, you’ll even be charged for sharing your password with yourself.
Netflix will launch an “add a home” feature next week which basically charges customers for the ability to share their accounts with devices that aren’t theirs — but the price will be less than a standard subscription fee.
It’s currently being trialled in Argentina, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.
Here’s the real kicker, though: your Netflix account isn’t just tied to you but to your home, too. Which means you can’t use your own login details at your mate’s place or at a hotel or Airbnb.
If you have a holiday home or a place you spend significant amounts of time at that isn’t your primary residence, you’ll have to use the “add a home” feature and pay to be able to use your Netflix account there.