
X (née Twitter) rolled out audio and video call support to all users this week, a feature previously limited to those who pay for verification. But there's one pretty glaring issue with that: The option is enabled by default, which means that anyone you follow can now make an audio or video call to you and — even more worrying still — see your IP address.
For those unaware, your IP address stands for Internet Protocol, and it's what the internet or a local network uses to communicate with your device. It also contains information about your physical location, something that's frequently exploited in doxxing attempts where personal information is published online for all the world to see.