
Apple's latest iPhone software update, iOS 17.2, turned on a setting by default that has a frankly alarming name: "Discoverable by Others." The creepy-sounding setting is leading users of the best iPhones to think their name and location are being broadcast to the public without their consent. And while that isn't the case, you may still want to turn it off anyway, The Wall Street Journal reports.
As a part of iOS 17.2’s rollout in December, Apple debuted the highly anticipated Journal app it demoed back at WWDC 2023. You can think of it as an evolution of the Notes app. It has a written component for you to jot down your thoughts, but what makes it unique is that you can also supplement these entries by including photos, videos, places you’ve visited, songs you've listened to, workouts, and more — all to make these entries more dynamic to look back on. It works similarly to how the iPhone already curates your photos and videos to create memories in the Photos app. The best part of all is that, through the help of on-device machine learning, the Journal app can also automatically offer personalized suggestions on topics to write about along with daily reflection prompts to steer the focus on gratitude and support mental health.